Lyme Disease in Missouri

This presentation is designed for a teenage audience to educate them about Lyme disease. The following topics are discussed: a brief history, the cause and vector of the disease, the effects of the disease on the human body, the life cycle of the vector, tips for prevention, and treatment options. This presentation is designed to inform, educate, and raise awareness of Lyme disease.

Please click here to view the presentation. I hope it serves to fill your brain with knowledge. If you have additional information or comments, please add a comment.

Thanks,

Lori Calderas

PUBH 8165-10

Environmental Health — Epidemiology

Walden University

23 Responses

  1. This is a very informative paper on Lyme disease. Many people are still unaware of the seriousness of this disease. Still important to keep informing people to bring awareness. Good job.

  2. Very nice presentation, Lori. Please keep on your good job.
    P.S. I will ask my daughter to take a look.

    • Thank you Dr. Hong for taking the time to review my work. I hope she likes it, and I hope she does not get any ticks; but if she does she will know what to do. Your response is greatly appreciated.

      Lori Calderas

  3. Thank you for providing such a succinct overview of Lyme Disease in Missouri. Living on 80 acres surrounded by the Mark Twain National Forest makes me conscious of the potential danger of tick bites!

    • Thank you Dr. Slye. I remember you talking about riding horses on your 80 acres when you were instructing one of my classes for education. I am so glad you took the time to look at my work! It is interesting to note that the tick that carries Lyme disease in Missouri and the tick that carries Lyme disease in California look almost identical. I greatly appreciate your response and your kind words.

      Lori Calderas πŸ™‚

  4. Hello Lori,
    My name is Elizabeth Walker and I am an M.P.H. student at Walden and I just reviewed your work on Lyme Disease. Fantastic job!
    I work as an L.V.T. in a veterinary clinic in New York, and in our area Lyme Disease has never been prominent; however, this Spring, as we are testing dogs for tick-borne diseases, we are finding that dogs that have never left this region are developing Lyme Disease. In fact, we have diagnosed approximately 20 dogs in April 2011 alone. As you mentioned in your presentation, our pets and domestic animals may be carrying ticks that may decide to feed on a human instead. It appears as though Lyme-carrying ticks are sweeping inland toward you as well. Excellent, excellent presentation and information! Way to spread awareness!

    Good luck in your studies!

    Liz Walker

    • Liz,

      Thank you for reading my post and responding. I am also a student at Walden University. I am in the Ph.D. program for Public Health — Epidemiology. Lyme disease is supposed to have origins in Connecticut, and so it would make sense that New York is experiencing an increase in rates of Lyme disease. Which test are you using for detection and what is the accuracy rating on the test. For humans, the test is only about 50% reliable. Do the families of tha affected animals have symptoms of Lyme disease or have any of them contracted it? If the test for animals is more reliable than the human test, it might be useful in tracking this commonly misdiagnosed disease. Any ideas?

      Lori Calderas
      PUBH 8165

      • Hi Lori,
        We have actually had a few concerned clients ask us about Lyme disease and whether or not they should be tested. We usually tell them it’s not a bad idea, especially if they are having some of the symptoms of Lyme disease. One problem, however, is that many of the doctors in this area are saying that testing is unnecessary unless the person has traveled because Lyme disease is not prominent in this area. One doctor even refused to test a veterinarian’s wife who was having symptoms of the disease because he thought it was something different.
        I have decided that I’m going to compile a list of animals from our veterinary clinic who have tested positive for Lyme disease, the area in which they are originally from, and send the information into our county public health office. I’m also considering sending out a questionnaire to some of our clients whose pets tested positive to provide additional information to public health.
        The test we use is the IDEXX 4DX Snap test. It is an ELISA test that takes 8 minutes to run. This single test detects heartworm antigen, Borrelia burgdorferi, Erlichia canis, and Anaplasma phagocytophilum. According to the IDEXX website, the sensitivity for the Lyme antigen is 98.8% and the specificity is 100%. Therefore, it may be worth looking into to see if this test can be used in a broader medical setting for multiple species, including humans. Here is the IDEXX website for more information on the 4DX Snap test, http://www.idexx.com/view/xhtml/en_us/smallanimal/inhouse/snap/4dx.jsf?SSOTOKEN=0.

        Thanks for you interest!
        Liz

  5. This is a comprehensive review on Lyme disease. The presented material covers important facts about the disease which will help community-at-large. Allow me to thank the erudite author for sharing the valuable information, and also, for citing a lot of literature references. Remarkable job!

    • Dr. Jyoti Malhotra,

      Thank you for reading my post and responding. I am glad you liked it and hope to keep producing high quality work. I greatly appreciate you taking time to read and review my work, it means a lot to me.

      Thank you very much πŸ™‚

      Lori Calderas

  6. Excellent presentation, I thought it was the best thing scene slice bread. Your research and dedication to your field cannot be equaled. The board of trustees should present you with your doctrine after this flawless, immaculate, astonishing presentation.

    • Spok,

      Thank you for reading my presentation and responding. I appreciate your enthusiasm for my work and hope that it can inspire others like yourself to greatness.

      Lori Calderas

  7. Dear Lori, your research seems flawless; you should apply to the Vulcan Science Academy. Have you given any thought to Star Fleet after you graduate?

    • CPT Kirk,

      Thank you for reading my post and responding. I feel like I am in the Vulcan Science Acadamy now with my school, and I think I work at the pre-Star Fleet organization at work. I truly think that one of them is a Vulcan!

      Lori Calderas

  8. Excellent research paper! You did a very good job on the presentation. I thought the presentation was very informative and I learned a few new fun facts. Keep up the great work!

    • Brandy,

      Thank you for reading my presentation and responding. I appreciate all you do for me and appreciate the fact that you took the time to read my post. I hope it helps to raise awareness for you and your family of the dangers of Lyme disease in our community.

      Thanks,
      Lori Calderas

  9. mmmmm….. A JEDI you will be.

  10. […] Lyme Disease in Missouri (environmentalhealthtoday.wordpress.com) […]

    • Thank you for using my post as a reference in your article. I appreciate that you looked at it and are willing to share it with others. Thank you very much.

      Lori Calderas

  11. Lyme disease is named after a cluster of cases that occurred in and around Old Lyme and Lyme, Connecticut in 1975. Before 1975, elements of Borrelia infection were also known as “tick-borne meningopolyneuritis”, Garin-Bujadoux syndrome, Bannwarth syndrome or sheep tick fever.-

    Our very own blog
    <,http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/l-arginine-benefits/

    • Thank you for reading my post and responding. It is interesting that this is known as sheep tick fever and is a disease now transitioning to humans just as anthrax was once called wool sorters disease and transitioned to humans through close contact. I hope you found the powerpoint helpful.

Leave a Reply

