Combating Environmental factors contributing to Childhood Obesity

Combating Environmental factors contributing to Childhood Obesity

Hello. My name is Tiffany Lewis and I am a graduate student in the Public Health-Epidemiology program at Walden University. My power point presentation today deals with improving and/or eliminating environmental barriers at schools that may facilitate in the childhood obesity epidemic.

 My target audience is local teachers and other school officials in Georgia.

Please click here to view presentation. I hope that the information is helpful. If you have any questions, or care to leave a comment, please do so, below.  Thank you

Tiffany Lewis, MSCRA

DrPH-Epidemiology Student

Walden University

PUBH 8165(2)

Instructor: Dr. Raymond Thron

Winter 2011

5 Responses

  1. Good Evening,

    My name is Amber Ross, and I participate in your PUBH 8165 course. I had the opportunity to review your project, and think that you couldn’t have presented the information better.
    I found many points that should be considered as others that I would like to add. For instance, schools should think about farming fruits and vegetables for children.
    In doing this, this makes it conveinent for them to know what the children are eating opposed to offering snacks that keeps them overweight.

    In regard to your resources, I think that each source enabled you to deliver a very dynamic presentation.

    Congratulations!
    Amber L. Ross

    • Thank you for the compliment Amber and added suggestions. I think the farming is a good idea for schools located in rural areas.

  2. I enjoyed your presentation. What I enjoyed most is your view of how the environment plays a factor in the rising rate of obesity (especially among our young people). The saying is true, “we are products of our environment”. You presented the information in a thorough manner and the information was very clear. Good job! Now that the information is here, maybe we can see implementation and some progressive change in eating habits of both children and their families!

  3. […] Combating Environmental factors contributing to Childhood Obesity (environmentalhealthtoday.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

